Mmm… Food


Indian Food Mania
August 17, 2008, 10:13 pm
Filed under: Cooking

My efforts to be better for the world, pay off in more ways than one.  My carpooling on Monday thru Thursday made for longer hours at work and as a result I was able to leave early on Friday and come home to prepare Indian Food Mania. I have dreams that someday this blog will be followed the way I follow www.manjulaskitchen.com If you know not of what I speak, you must click back on the link and visit the site.  Manjula is a woman in her late 50’s early 60’s who cooks Vegetarian Food.  What’s so interesting about this you say??  Her homemade youtube video’s have me mesmerized.  She shows you all the ingredients she is having you use.  Gives you translations for names of food items and shows you all the prepartion steps.  I’m hooked.  I check daily to see what kind of new recipes she has posted!!!  So this Friday I embarked on making her Malai Kofta, and improvising with what arrived in our CSA this week, Chard Paratha (a variation on her Spinach Paratha recipe) with Hari Chutney, Bhindi Masala, and Mango Lassi’s.  While her video’s are only 9 minutes in length, this feast took nearly 3.5 hours to prepare, but worth every minute.  It was greeted with exclamations of deliciousness.  Always the ego booster 🙂  Do I love to cook just to gather compliments??  No, I’ve become a foodie.  It’s true I used to live off of mac and cheese and rice-a-roni, but those days are no longer.  Check out the food stuffs I now call Friday nite supper.

Malai Kofta waiting to be plated.

Malai Kofta waiting to be plated.

Mango Lassi

Mango Lassi

Full Plate Indian Food

Full Plate Indian Food

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

