Mmm… Food


Am I already becoming my mother??
August 23, 2008, 4:49 pm
Filed under: Cooking

 

I improvised breakfast this morning, something I usually don’t do. I’m usually strictly a recipe girl. Follow the recipe, don’t make any substitutions, if you’re missing an ingredient, choose a different recipe. But instead I made an egg scramble, some “4 Mexican Cheese” blend muffins and some banana slices. The scramble used

 

Egg Scramble with Mushroom, Shallot, Tomato and Basil

4 medium Cremini mushrooms, cubed
3 shallots, finely chopped
1 small tomato, deseeded, cubed
2 Tb fresh Basil leaves, chopped
1/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese
4 Eggs
1/4 cup milk
salt
pepper
Olive Oil
1TB Butter

Place 1 Tb Olive Oil in a small skillet over medium high heat. Add shallots and cook ~1 minute. Add mushrooms, cook until reduced in size. Turn off skillet and set aside

Beat 4 Eggs and 1/4 Cup milk together. Add salt and pepper to taste. Melt 1 Tb Butter in a large skillet. Cook over medium heat until bottom layer is starting to solidify. Sprinkle Mushroom/Shallot mixture over the top of the eggs. Cut into egg mixture with the side of a spatula and flip portion of eggs over to continue cooking the remaining egg. Flip additional times as necessary to complete cooking ~5 minutes. Turn off heat. Sprinkle cheese over the top of the eggs and cover the skillet to let cheese melt.

Place egg mixture onto plates and sprinkle with tomatos and basil.

Serve.

Now here’s the part where I thought I was becoming my mother. Before I had plated the eggs, I had already sliced the banana into pieces and put it onto the plate and had 2 cheese muffins ready. So after I had added the eggs, and before I added the basil, I had to pause as everything on the plate was a shade of Yellow!! Oh my god, I’ve become my mother!! She was always good at serving color themed meals unintentionally. Say, fish with a baked potato and a side of cauliflower, the “White meal”. So when I saw everything yellow in front of me, it freaked me out a little bit. I mean I know it’s going to happen. I am going to become her, but I was hoping it would still be a while. My saving grace, was I had already planned to add the tomato and basil. Which, did a lot to change the look of the plate. The food got great reviews, and since I used Splenda to make the muffins, they can be consumed, guilt free. 🙂

 

 

(

I

 

)

No I didn

 

 

I’m thinking of maybe trying out the stand mixer today. Brownies?? Homemade brownies?? It’s fun to do it without a box mix. I dont’ think I’ve ever made brownies from scratch. Have to wait and see if it materializes.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

