Mmm… Food


Double Chocolate Brownies a la Kara via Martha
September 5, 2008, 8:26 pm
Filed under: Cooking

The brownies were a go.  It took a while to post because I was picture happy when I tried it.  I used the recipe for Double Chocolate Brownies from Martha Stewart.  I own and use her “New Classics” cookbook, but her website is such a handy bit of information for recipes.  I especially like to use it, when I have an odd ingredient that I need ideas for.  It’s so simple to do a search on said ingredient and be given a list of recipes that include it.  This is how I first made Kale and Prosciutto Ravioli when Kale arrived in our food share.  But now on to dessert.

 

Prepare an 8 X 8 pan

Start with an 8 X 8 pan.  Grease the inside with butter, then lay in aluminum foil with an overhang and grease that too.  Yes, I don’t always understand the need to grease and regrease.  Seems like, why shouldn’t you just use the pan??  But I like to follow a recipe the first time thru as directed.  And it was very easy to get the brownie out to cool after it was cooked by using the foil.  My mother could never be bothered by any of these steps growing up, so they have seemed a little foreign to me.
Chocolate/Butter Mixture

Chocolate/Butter Mixture

 Next prepare the Chocolate/Butter/Cocoa mixture. 

I used a metal bowl that was about 8 inches diameter.  It’s what I chose to be qualified as “heatproof” which is a term I think needs some attention in the baking world.  Initially I think heatproof = doesn’t heat up.  I am a scientist by training.  You’ll see what I mean in a minute.  I would initially call Styrofoam a heatproof material.  You put a hot liquid in it, and it doesn’t really conduct heat very well.  Your hand stays cool, your coffee stays hot.  Therefore “heatproof”.  However if you choose a Styrofoam bowl for this step you would be very sorry.  Heatproof in the baking world seems to mean, capable of easily conducting heat without damaging said container.  Like making sure you don’t use a plastic bowl that won’t last if it gets to hot.  This is the baking world version of heatproof.  If I ever write a cookbook I vow to never use the term heatproof.  I will ask you to use a metal bowl, or something that won’t melt.  As heatproof just baffles and confuse me.

Continue reading