Mmm… Food


Daves Italian Kitchen
September 17, 2008, 4:34 pm
Filed under: Restaurants

Dave’s Italian Kitchen is the best Italian cheap eats place I’ve ever been to.  So simple and so tasty. It’s located in the basement of the building at 1365 Chicago Ave. Evanston Il which if you’re driving to it from Chicago, Clark St. turns into Chicago once you pass over the Chicago/Evanston border. Simple and delicious Dave’s Spaghetti Pesto priced @ 8.95 is more pasta than one person should really be allowed to eat. All the dishes are this way though, it’s unavoidable. My girlfriend usually has the Spaghetti with Meat Sauce and a Meatball. Yes, one giant meatball atop all that pasta, begging to be consumed. Priced @ 7.95 with an extra 1.50 for the meatball (which is a 1/4 lb of meat) it can’t be beat. And these aren’t just cheap eats. They’re delicious, you want to go back for more, (we’ve had dinner there two weekends in a row), you crave it on a daily basis yum. If you go on a weekend be prepared to wait (although we haven’t had to wait more than 30 minutes for a table). This is not the undiscovered cheap eats you wish it could be and after 26 years in business you find out why. You can get a tasty bottle of Cab for 13 bucks and sip on wine while you wait for a table. Once you’re seated you are quickly served up homemade bread that is delectable, I wish I could eat it everyday. Munch on that, and maybe order the Ceaser Salad (with some of the best Ceaser dressing around) which at 4.50 can provide salad for 2 couples. 🙂 Then it’s just on to the pasta. Which will you choose? I haven’t been an established regular long enough to appreciate the menu changes, but this notice on the menu does make me giggle. 🙂

Menu sidenote
Menu sidenote

I haven’t tried any of the desserts. I’m usually too stuffed to ever finish my meal. But I am vowing now that next time I will try the Homemade Cannoli. I’m a sucker for Pistachio’s. mmm… If we weren’t going camping this weekend, I’d request a third week visit to Dave’s. Maybe you’ll have to go for me, and let me know how the cannoli’s are? I’m expecting ecstatic reports!!!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

