Mmm… Food


Tarts!!!
September 25, 2008, 12:37 pm
Filed under: Cooking

I got excited a couple weeks ago when the phone rang and it was my sister calling to ask me for food tips!!  This is not to dis my mother who makes the best Strawberry Glace pie which I request often when she is cooking for an occasion, but I think it says something when your siblings start to call you instead of mom for cooking tips!  Her question was in regard to What do you do if you want to make a tart and all you have is a pie pan?  The answer is simple.   A pie pan will work just as well for making a tart as an actual dish made for the occasion.  I don’t own a tart pan, (although I of course want one) and I made Paula Dean’s Fresh Fruit Tartthis summer in my glass pie dish.  And my sister used a ceramic one to make this fabulous looking Fig Tart. She used sliced Mission Figs laid atop Creme Fraiche and drizzled with a Honey Glaze. Her rating was on the extremely sweet side, but with a sweet tooth like mine, I’m sure I’d be happy to eat more than one piece 🙂 

 

My sister bakes a Fig Tart!!

My sister bakes a Fig Tart!!

Tarts are usually shallower than pies and this is reflected in the official pans. However, since tarts can be thought of as shallow pies, a pie pan will work just fine. When fitting the dough intended for a tart into a pie plate, do not press the dough all the way up the sides and over the rim. Press the dough about halfway up the edge of the pie plate (approximately 12-3/4inch). You really only need enough height to give your tart an edge nice appearance. Pressing the dough clear up to the top will mean that your tart filling will most likely not come up high enough on the tart edge and thereby leave an exposed unadorned edge. So sad.

An additional thing to take note of when making a tart in a pie dish, is to take into account the recipe you are using for the crust. The recipe I use for making crust is meant to make 2 pie shells. What I want to draw your attention to is that the recipe is making enough dough for 2 pies, NOT 2 tarts. Because you won’t be using dough for the top half of the dish and edge, you should have extra dough leftover when making tarts. You don’t want to use all the dough and have the tart crust be too thick. If it is too thick it will not cook evenly and may burn on the edges before the center is cooked. Instead you can take advantage of the extra dough and make a few individual tartlettes. I used 4 extra 3 inch tartlette pans to make mini individual size servings of the tart at large. If you don’t have any small tart pans, just roll out the extra dough into a sheet, cut it into strips, shake a cinnamon sugar mixture over the top and bake them on a cookie sheet. You can snack on them as you finish preparing the rest of your tart. Have you tried any tart making? Send me a photo and I’ll post it here 🙂

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] When you try something and it’s good.  Make it again!!  April did just this when she made Paula Dean’s Fresh Fruit Tart, (actually she made 2) to take to a 2nd Story (which is an awesome storytelling group that present […]

Pingback by The comeback of Tarts « Mmm… Food




Leave a Reply

