Mmm… Food


Halloween research!!! Squid Ink
September 30, 2008, 4:18 pm
Filed under: Cooking, Shopping

I’ve been searching out Halloween ideas for the upcoming black and orange holiday!!  Last year I was on a pumpkin cooking kick that included, Pumpkin Lasagna, Pumpkin Cheesecake, Pumpkin Seed Pesto, and a Pumpkin Scallop dish with Spaghetti.  While this year I am excited again to make pumpkin dishes, I was getting excited to try and make some Halloween Ravioli’s by dying the pasta dough ink with squid ink and then filling with either a Pumpkin, Sweet Potato or squash varietal filling.  The problem seems to be procuring Squid Ink locally.  When I tried to look up the procurement of squid ink, I was hoping it was going to be found at an ethnic grocery store of which I did not yet know.  Such as the easy finding of pumpkin seeds at Mexican groceries, or rice papers at Asian groceries. 

What I seem to be finding is that it may be more of an exotic gourmet item available for purchase at Gourmet Food Shops like Fox and Obel on the Near North side, or on-line from Marky’s

There are instructions on how to get your own squid ink from the squid directly, check it.

But really this seems like a lot of work, unless you were also going to cooking with the squid, which perhaps may be the route I end up going?? Also, when I tell my girlfriend about this option she looks at me like I have two heads!! Do you know where I might find it in Chicago?? Help?!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

