Mmm… Food


Butternut Squash Soup
October 27, 2008, 5:04 pm
Filed under: Cooking

Last Wednesday we had one of my old roommates over for dinner and I cooked up Martha’s Butternut Squash SoupOur food share just keeps bringing on the squash so I’m trying to come up with more new ways to prepare it.  The soup was relatively easy to make skill wise, with almost as much time spent prepping as cooking.  I still have not mastered the art of peeling a butternut squash.  I still think there must be a trick to doing this.  (Pause while I check youtube for a video)  See this is why youtube is amazing.  This video has been posted for over a year with 18666 views so far.  Brilliant!!!  I will be trying this technique the next time I have to cut up a butternut squash.  Maybe I’ll be able to avoid covering my kitchen floor with peels.

Anywhoozle, the soup was filling and very hearty, but not an enthusiastic must do again.  The part of the soup that got bigger raves than the the puree was the garnish of the Spicy Pumpkin seeds.   They are simply pumpkin seeds tossed with cayenne pepper, chili powder and lime juice and roasted @ 350 for about ten minutes. You can hear them cracking and jumping a little off the baking pan when they are nearing done. Super simple to make, and a great midday snack too!  I plan on making a new batch of these this evening as they only took about 10 minutes in the oven.  Oh, and a note that I learned about pumpkin seeds.  There are pumpkin seeds (like what you get out of a jack-o-lantern which is both the seed and the hull covering) and then there are pumpkin seeds, known as pepitas, often used in Mexican cooking which is just the seed inside with the hull removed.  They are small and green and much more tender than their straight from the pumpkin counter part.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

