Mmm… Food


Indian Food Mania #2 and I forgot to take pictures?!?!
October 27, 2008, 5:46 pm
Filed under: Cooking

Yesterday was Indian Food Mania #2. Tuesday is the celebration of Diwali, Festival of Lights, which I learned about from Manjula aided by wikipedia and decided to celebrate by making more Indian food on Sunday!  Sadly I got so caught up in the prepping, cooking, and packaging of the food (I was cooking at home but bundling it all to take to our friends J&R’s house to eat) that I forgot to take a single picture!!!  So so so sad.  But ultimately doesn’t matter. Good food was still consumed even if there isn’t any pictoral evidence to present to you.  Those whose mouths it was destined for ate it all and handed out grins for tasty food.  All my selections were again made from Manjulas videos found at www.manjulaskitchen.com.  Her vegetarian meals are helpful as we move to cut meat from our daily intake.  I made three dishes using her recipes.  Main Entree: Aloo Baingan, which is made from potatos and eggplant mixed with tomatos and other spices.  Very tasty, but I may increase the spices if I make it again.  Side dish of bhindi masala, which is okra made with a variety of spices including turmeric, cumin seeds, paprika among others, that was a hit last time and a hit again this time.  But really the reason I even decided to endeavor on Indian Food Mania #2 was the dessert.  Gujia.  Oh so freaking tasty!!!  They are a fried pastry with a filling made from heavy cream, milk powder, coconut powder, and almonds.  Then they are wrapped in dough to make what looks somewhat like a dumping.  They are deep fried, dipped in a sugar glaze and garnished with chopped almonds and pistachios.  They were uber tasty and I would love to make them again.  I will use the excuse that I need practice folding dumplings to get the technique down so that they stay stuck together and don’t tear as I fold the dough over the filling.  Really she makes it look so easy in the video, but oh so much harder in my reality.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

