Mmm… Food


Sweet Potato Risotto
October 27, 2008, 5:21 pm
Filed under: Cooking


I didn’t plan it at all.  Which is kind of unlikely for something like a risotto.  I would normally plan out making risotto on a nite where I had plenty of time and didn’t think I would mind standing over the stove stirring the risotto “frequently” to prevent it from burning and ensuring it absorbed the liquid small portion by small portion.  But no, I came across the recipe when I examined the torn magazine page that was currently functioning as my bookmark.  It has the picture of the sweet potato risotto, but no recipe, only the date for the current November issue of Real Simple.  We had gotten a sweet potato in the food share just a day earlier, and I knew April would be home later, so I thought I’d give it a whirl. I went home found the magazine that the page had been torn from and we had everything on the list.  What was kind of nice about this recipe is that it used 1 cup of white wine and 4 cups of water for the liquid instead of the more standard chicken or vegetable stock to cook the rice.  I may try this with other vegetables.  We don’t keep stocks on hand the way we do wine and water! HA!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

