Mmm… Food


Vegetable Korma with Puri
November 2, 2008, 6:43 pm
Filed under: Cooking

When Friday rolls around and I’ve got some overtime at work I stop and think, “could I leave early and go home to make some new food tonite?”  This past Friday was one of those days.  I made more Indian Food from Manjula’s Kitchen.  Yesterday we tried out the vegetable korma, made with the inhouse veggie assortment of new potatoes, cauliflower, broccoli, carrots and mushrooms.  We were trying to pin down what makes a korma a korma and well… it seems hard to pin down.  Initially we thought cream and nuts but then wikipedia suggests it is a curry, but a lot of the recipes also seem to include tomatoes or tomato paste.  A variety of spices seems to always include coriander, ginger,  bay leaves and chili.  But who knows if my recipes are skewed in viewing, I’m sure there are a million different versions and tweaks on when to add what and how hot and how long and on and on.  All I know is that as long as it gets thumbs up from April I’m happy with the result.  She’s the Indian food lover I’m looking to please first.  

I wanted to make Naan with the korma, but alas… we didn’t have any yoghurt in the house.  Instead I made puri’s.  Which I’m always amazed at the minimal ingredient lists in bread.  Seriously all these puffed breads were made of was flour, salt, water, and oil.  Unbelievable.  And I totally know what Manjula means when she talks about how kids like to watch her make them, because I kept wishing someone else was at home to watch them puff up in the oil.  It still doesn’t seem possible that they should puff up the way they do!  

Alas I love trying these new recipes and making food that I’ve never tried before.  I get a new kind of thrill out of it that I never thought I’d enjoy.  Cooking has really become one of my new passions that I enjoy doing.  I’m roasting acorn squash as I’m writing this, making a repeat of the acorn squash lasagna.  That’s the other thing I’m working on.  Learning to repeat recipes that go over well.  🙂  It’s a learning process.  Anywhoozle.  Hope you enjoy my adventures.  I do. 🙂

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

