Mmm… Food


Cranberry Coffeecake
January 3, 2009, 1:18 pm
Filed under: Cooking

Oh mmm… food.  It has been much too long since I’ve tended to you.  I have a few offereing to lay at your feet.  Mostly sweets made for the holiday season 🙂  First let me offer up Cranberry Coffeecake.  Post Thanksgiving we still had 3 bags of fresh organic cranberries stashed in the refrigerator.  I couldn’t think of many cranberry recipes so I set off to my favourite websites to find some new recipe.  I had read a post about a cranberry coffeecake and was inspired. I found this one on Epicurious to try.

img_1557

 Results were generally favourable. I still struggle with the temperature of the oven not being reflective of the knob at all!!! Drives me nuts!!! As a result, the edges were once again a little over crispy, but the center was done, which is important. The best incarnation of the coffeecake came when we took the leftovers to a friends house, and reheated it in the microwave and served it with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. Super tasty!!!  Of course every cooking experience is a learning experience, so if I were to go back and repeat this recipe (something I should do more of, but I get excited about trying new things)  but the tip would be to use thinner layers of cranberry than I did.  the main stripe was tasty, but there wasn’t nearly enough left to make the second stripe as thick.  So watch your spreading.  Happy Baking!!!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

yeah! a new post…even 2 new posts! Thanks. Love cranberry bread!

Comment by Nola




Leave a Reply

