Mmm… Food


Foodie Reading: More New Years Resolutions
January 6, 2009, 3:51 pm
Filed under: Books

WEEK 1

I’m an avid reader.  Always have been.  The last two years I challenged myself to read a book a week as part of my New Years Resolutions.  This year continues that trend, but I add in my new foodie ways.  I will spend the year reading all about food!!!  Biographies, Investigative Journalism, Literature, Memoirs.  Food is everywhere and I’m going to take it in.  By eating and reading.   I had thoughts of starting a new blog to add in my book reads, but I sometimes have enough trouble updating here, that what are my chances of staying on top of two blog?  So in that case, I hope to just post here more often.  I’m on schedule to finish my first book today or tomorrow.  choice was…

julie-and-julia

 “Julie and Julia: 365 day, 524 recipes, 1 tiny apartment kitchen” by Julie Powell. 

It seems fitting that the first book on my list to blog about is about a woman who spent a year cooking and blogging about her adventures to cook her way thru Julia Child’s “Mastering the Art of French Cooking“.  As I’m reading I think, I wish I knew Julie Powell.  She seems like my kind of person.  Her sense of humor rings right up there and I’ve laughed out loud many times while working my way thru the book.  She started the project on whim, something she at times regretted and wanted to give up the game and stop making aspic!!  But I love the idea of the challenge.  Every recipe.  Even the ones she knows she’ll hate, and doesn’t want to try, she needs to really make everyone of them.  Like collecting, you want a complete set.  You don’t want the “every one except for the really ugly one” because it take the ugly one to make a complete set.  If I had the cash, there is a part of me that wants to have a copy of every food book I plan on reading this year.  All lined up on the bookshelves in order.  Alas, the library’s free, and you don’t get much better than free, especially in this economy. 

And look what time does for you.  In the book Julie laughs at the idea that Julia Child could have been a spy. “…though it’s hard to imagine a six-foot-two-inch redheaded woman making herself inconspicuous in, say, Sri Lanka.  Of course she didn’t do any spying- although I suppose if she had, she wouldn’t tell us, would she?”  p.59 Hardcover, 1st Ed.  Little did she know SHE WAS A SPY!!!!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

